Home » Uncategorized » Yeah, so I suck at resolutions.

Yeah, so I suck at resolutions.

So I’m sick. Again. With a stupid, over-the-top sore throat from hell, endless post nasal drip & completely unreasonable fatigue. I’ve spent every evening for the past week on the couch, having done almost nothing constructive, and I’m probably taking a half day from work tomorrow, so I can spend more time laying about, doing nothing. I’d take the whole day, but I suddenly have a full plate of shit to do at the office. And I feel guilty for being such a whiner about this all because dude, it’s just a stupid cold. Why am I so tired with such a little blip of a thing? I should be out doing great things or something.

So while I’m feeling guilty for not getting anything done again and not exercising again, I thought I’d look back at my resolutions for the year & see how I’m doing. Well, I know I’m not doing well, but I was curious to see exactly HOW not-well I’m doing.

First resolution was (paraphrased): eat healthier throughout the day, more fruits & veggies & no binging on chips or cheese. Well…not a complete failure, but certainly pretty damn close to that.

Second (paraphrased): “I will cook more often.” HA! Yeah. But I’m going to the supermarket tomorrow to attempt to find stuff to cook for myself & Nathaniel because he suddenly wants me to make “dinner.” (Instead of him sitting on the couch, taking possibly a few bites out of a handful of his list of tolerable foods). He has also said he wants to eat “something different.” I don’t honestly have my hopes up too high on this though, as since saying so, he’s continued to turn down almost everything as usual, even those items not on his list of everyday foods.

Third (paraphrased): “I will organize the entire house.” We did organize a lot of the toys & Eric shredded some papers. I did my sock drawer awhile back too – which was totally awesome. Does that count?

Fourth (paraphrased): “I will buy a treadmill & cancel my memberships, use my stationary bike every other week (at least) and will do strength training at least every other week.” Well, I decided we don’t have the space or money for the treadmill. I have used my stationary bike at least that often. I have not done any strength training to speak of. I suck.

Fifth: “I will beat my race times from last year & I will cut my average speed to under 11-minutes per mile…To accomplish this, I will run at least 3x per week.” Well…I did beat my March 5K by a lot & my avg speed is definitely getting to about 11-minutes or under (not counting on hills). I have had some weeks where I’ve run once, some 3 or 4 times. But overall,  I definitely have not run as often as I’d like.

Sixth: “I will read more books.” Well, I’ve started 3 books. One, I decided I hated within the first chapter. Two, I’m still working on…very, very slowly, as my attention span for books has gone from endless to zilch.

Seventh:  “MAYBE, I’ll run a marathon this year.” Well, I haven’t done it YET, but I am registering for the Philadelphia Marathon this year – come hell or high water.

Okay. I’m tired now. Well, more tired. So I have no cool ending to this. Goodnight.

 

Leave a Reply

